Music: University of Plymouth Choral Society Spring concert

J.S. Bach Magnificat
Handel Zadok the Priest
Handel The King Shall Rejoice

The programme presents a selection of baroque duets from the 18th century’s masters, led by Musical Director Alice Dennis BEM.

Further to his appointment as Director of Music and Organist of St Thomas’s Church in Leipzig, Bach wanted to introduce himself to the city with a work that showed off all his brilliant potential. 'Magnificat' was written to grab their attention with something short, sharp and stunning.

'Zadok the Priest' is one of the most triumphant moments in classical music – originally composed in 1727 by Handel for the coronation of King George II - and performed at every coronation since then.

'The King Shall Rejoice' was also written for the coronation of King George II and specifically intended for the part of the service during which the new monarch receives the crown.

Ticket information: £16/£6 students and under 26’s